Charles County Public Schools Header Bar  
Home   |   Contact Us   



Board of Education Members 


Michael Lukas, Chairman

Michael Lukas is an engineer and branch manager at the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division. He is serving in his first term as chairman and served as vice chairman in 2015 and 2016. Mr. Lukas works with the Boy Scouts and enjoys playing and coaching soccer. He has volunteered with several community organizations, including the Greater Waldorf Jaycees, Waldorf Kiwanis, Christmas in April and Relay for Life. He earned his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering, and has completed graduate studies in systems engineering at George Mason University and the Naval Post Graduate School. Mr. Lukas lives in La Plata with his wife and son. First elected in 2010, he was re-elected to a second term in November 2014.

Barbara S. Palko, Vice Chairman

Barbara S. Palko is a retired Career and Technology Education coordinator who also served as a teacher and specialist during her 35-year career with Charles County Public Schools. She is serving her first term as vice chairman. She worked with the Teacher Academy of Maryland Program Advisory Council and CCPS career and technology education programs. She is a member of the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association, the Maryland Retired School Personnel Association, Future Educators Association and International Technology and Engineering Educators’ Association. She earned her master’s degree in human development-early childhood/special education and her bachelor’s degree in elementary education with a science minor. She is serving her first term and lives in Charlotte Hall.

Jennifer S. Abell

Jennifer S. Abell is the Senior Development Manager for the March of Dimes Greater Washington, D.C., Market and a long-term resident of Charles County. She is a member of the New Life Wesleyan Church, Charles County Chamber of Commerce, Partnerships For A Healthier Charles County and the Fetal Infant Mortality Review Board. She has volunteered and held leadership positions with many local organizations, including Boy Scouts of America, Girl Scouts, Kiwanis International, Parent Teacher Association, and Indian Head Swim Team. She currently volunteers as an Outreach Counselor for the Center for Abused Persons. Ms. Abell received her undergraduate degree at the College of Southern Maryland, lives in La Plata and has four children. She was first appointed to the Board of Education in 2004, and re-elected to her third term in November 2014.


Mark Crawford

Mark Crawford is a teacher and extended care director at Southern Maryland Christian Academy in White Plains. Elected in November 2014, Mr. Crawford previously served a four-year term as a member of the Board of Education from 2002 to 2006. A member of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Mr. Crawford lives in White Plains with his wife and four children.

Victoria T. Kelly

Victoria T. Kelly is a management consultant and program analyst for EHS Technologies and an active parent and community volunteer. She has served as the PTO president of Mary H. Matula Elementary School and as a member of the Town of La Plata Parks and Recreation Commission and the Daughters of the American Revolution, Port Tobacco Chapter. She has her master’s degree in management consulting and marketing and a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Mrs. Kelly is a Charles County native, a Maurice J. McDonough High School graduate and lives in La Plata with her husband and three children. She is serving her first term.


Margaret T. Marshall

Margaret T. Marshall served Charles County Public Schools for 25 years as a Government remediator, assistant test coordinator, social studies teacher and countywide instructional resource teacher for social studies before retiring from the Office of Curriculum and Instruction. After retirement, she piloted the intervention and teacher mentoring programs. She is a member of the Pomonkey High School Alumni Association, Charles County Retired School Personnel Association, a charter member of Alpha Sigma chapter and current member of Nu Zeta Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. She was inducted into Kappa Delta Epsilon Sorority for academic achievement while at Duquesne University, where she received her undergraduate degree. Additionally, she serves her church in several volunteer capacities. Mrs. Marshall is a lifelong resident of Charles County and lives in La Plata.



Virginia R. McGraw

Virginia R. McGraw is a retired Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) principal who also served as a teacher and vice principal during her 25-year career with CCPS. She was the 2009 CCPS Principal of the Year, and volunteers with Our Lady Help of Christians Catholic Church and served as past president and recording secretary of Delta Kappa Gamma Educational Sorority. She is also a member of the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association. She earned her bachelor’s degree in elementary special education and her master’s in special education. Mrs. McGraw is a resident of Waldorf.



Kimberly Hill, Superintendent of Schools

Kimberly Hill is the Superintendent of Schools. She serves as the Board of Education’s secretary-treasurer and manages the day-to-day operations of the school system. She has her doctorate degree in Educational Leadership and Policy from The George Washington University. Dr. Hill was appointed to a second, four-year term in 2017. Dr. Hill is a graduate of Charles County Public Schools and began her career in education as a social studies teacher at Maurice J. McDonough High School in 1986. She also served as a vice principal at McDonough and North Point High School, and was the Coordinator of the Charles County Career and Technology Center for seven years. Dr. Hill served as principal at North Point for six years before being named superintendent in 2013.


Drew Carter Picture 

Drew Carter, Student Member

Drew Carter is a senior at St. Charles High school. Drew became a member of student government as a sixth grader at Benjamin Stoddert Middle school. Drew is active in his school community and has held the office of vice president of the St. Charles High School National Honor Society. He was recently elected vice president of the St. Charles Student Government Association. Drew has been a member of the St. Charles Math team, Model United Nations team, as well as the poetry club. He also plays varsity soccer and Unified Bocce. Drew plans to attend a four-year university after he graduates to study economics, political science or business.



 Untitled 1



CCASC Website    Citizen Notification Service  School Locator Calendar   Twitter logo - Marketing Land's Guide to Twitter   

©1995-2017 Charles County Public Schools
5980 Radio Station Road | P.O. Box 2770 | La Plata, MD 20646
301-932-6610 | 301-870-3814 | TTY: 301-392-7579 | Info Line: 301-932-6656

Nondiscrimination Statement | Privacy Policy | ADA/Section 508 MSDE 

Adobe Acrobat  Flash Player